clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Patrice Bergeron nominated for Masterson Trophy

The Professional Hockey Writers' Association announced today that Patrice Bergeron is one of the Northeast Division nominees for the Bill Masterson Memorial Trophy. The Masterson Trophy is awarded annually by the PHWA to the player who "best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey".

Patrice Bergeron returned to the ice this season after missing the remainder of the '07-'08 season due to the lingering effects of a concussion he sustained during a game against the Philadelphia Flyers on October 27, 2007. Bergeron dealt with another setback this season when he suffered a second concussion during a game against the Carolina Hurricanes on December 20th, which forced him to miss 15 games. Patrice Bergeron has worked hard to get back on the ice and is showing signs that he can return to the level of play he was at prior to the concussion problems.

The last member of the Boston Bruins to win the Masterson was Phil Kessel for the '06-'07 season. Phil Kessel was diagnosed with testicular cancer during the season and returned to the ice after only missing 11 games.

Past Boston Bruins Masterson Trophy Winners

Charlie Simmer '85-'86

Gord Kluzak '89-'90

Cam Neely '93-'94

Phil Kessel '06-'07