clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Thursday Mourning Skate: Depression

Part 4 of 5 pieces exploring the Kübler-Ross model as it applies to the lockout.

Elsa - Getty Images

Elisabeth Kübler-Ross worked with terminally ill patients for a long time, and wrote a book called On Death and Dying in 1969. In it, she laid out the 5 stages of grief, or Kübler-Ross model. This week we will explore the 5 stages of grief in the Mourning Skates. Appropriate, no?

Today's stage is: Depression

The owners and the players are going to do what they will and there's nothing for me to do about it. They're just millionaires and billionaires squabbling over dollars and all we can do is just sit here and mope. This is terrible. I just want my season back and I can't have it. There's no hope of a season. I wonder if we'll even have a season next season.

The NHL won't play and the only thing I can do about it is sit here.

When someone is depressed, they are likely on their way to acceptance (covered tomorrow) and hope is just over the horizon.

Health note: If someone is grieving, it's healthiest to agree with them and let them continue to grieve in their own way rather than talk them out of it. The stages are often not followed in a particular order, and people often bounce around to different stages throughout a day. Please be mindful of your fellow fans.