clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Friday Mourning Skate: Acceptance

Part 5 of 5 pieces exploring the Kübler-Ross model as it applies to the lockout.

Bruce Bennett - Getty Images

Elisabeth Kübler-Ross worked with terminally ill patients for a long time, and wrote a book called On Death and Dying in 1969. In it, she laid out the 5 stages of grief, or Kübler-Ross model. This week we will explore the 5 stages of grief in the Mourning Skates. Appropriate, no?

Today's stage is: Acceptance

Well, I guess they're not going to have a season. Where can I get my hockey fix? Aha! I can see Jordan Caron and some prospects run train down in Providence, that's at least sorta Bruins hockey. And if that's too far, there's always Northeastern, BU, BC, Harvard, Merrimack, The Worcester Sharks, the Manchester Monarchs, and if I get really desperate, beer leagues and high school. Or maybe I'll dust off my skates and get out on the ice myself. There are plenty of rinks around Boston, there have to be leagues I can play in. Yeah, this isn't going to be so bad after all.

I can't change the lockout but I can still get my hockey fix!

Health note: If someone is grieving, it's healthiest to agree with them and let them continue to grieve in their own way rather than talk them out of it. The stages are often not followed in a particular order, and people often bounce around to different stages throughout a day. Please be mindful of your fellow fans.