clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Monday Mourning Skate: Denial

Part 1 of 5 pieces exploring the Kübler-Ross model as it applies to the lockout.

Greg M. Cooper-US PRESSWIRE - Presswire

Elisabeth Kübler-Ross worked with terminally ill patients for a long time, and wrote a book called On Death and Dying in 1969. In it, she laid out the 5 stages of grief, or Kübler-Ross model. This week we will explore the 5 stages of grief in the Mourning Skates. Appropriate, no?

Today's stage is: Denial

The Lockout will be over soon. Sure, they cancelled the schedule through October 24th but they didn't cancel the games! They'll work it out soon and everything will work out great. The league will rearrange the schedule and we won't lose 2 Montreal games and a Dallas game. It just can't happen. The players will come back from Europe, and we'll play a scrunched but not shortened season.

I can't wait!

Health note: If someone is grieving, it's healthiest to agree with them and let them continue to grieve in their own way rather than talk them out of it. The stages are often not followed in a particular order, and people often bounce around to different stages throughout a day. Please be mindful of your fellow fans.