clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jesse Winchester elbow on Chris Kelly apparently didn't warrant a penalty.

Russell LaBounty-USA TODAY Sport

Just a few minutes into the game, Jesse Winchester left his feet behind Tuukka Rask's net to level this flying elbow at his former Senators teammate Chris Kelly's head - and didn't get so much as a look from the referees.

Who knows if the NHL department of player safety will give this one a look, considering their consistency issues in the past, but this is pretty much a textbook case of rule 48.1:

Here's the reverse angle:

Now Rule 48.1 declares an illegal check to the head as "a hit resulting in contact with an opponent's head where the head was the main point of contact and such contact to the head was avoidable."

Gregory Campbell fought Winchester on his next shift, and Kelly returned to the ice shortly after, not even missing a shift, so there's that, at least. Here's hoping the NHL throws the book at WInchester - this is exactly the sort of hit that needs to not be a part of this sport.