clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

PRESIDENT'S TROPHY. Bruins beat Sabres 4-1 in semi-meaningless game

New, comments

Bruins are your 2013-2014 president's trophy winners!

Jared Wickerham

Extra Skater Stats

In a feat that hasn't happened since 1989-1990, the Bruins have actually won the President's Trophy. You may recall they came within one point of this in 08-09, losing out to the Sharks. Pretty cool.

Aside from the trophy, and the general fun times that come with the last home game of the season and Fan Appreciation day, this game was...not that great. The Bruins opened the scoring on Sabres' goalie Matt Hackett in the first period, with David Krejci and Gregory Campbell getting on the board (Jordan Caron even tallied an assist!) The second period saw Patrice Bergeron reach 30 goals on the season for the secod time in his career.

In the third period, Hackett had to be stretchered off after Jamie McBain knocked Torey Krug into him. He appeared to injure his right leg, prompting Connor Knapp to make his NHL debut. (If you're a Hockey East fan, you may remember Knapp as the goalie who allowed two goals to BU in the last minute of regulation in the Championship game in 2009, allowing a comeback win for the ages!) Sorry, Knapp. David Krejci got his second of the game in the third, and that was that.

So the Bruins win; it's off to New Jersey tomorrow with home ice through the whole playoffs locked up. Feels good.


Hahaha, a Campbell goal

Krejci gets his first of the night


Bergeron's perfect 30th!

and Krejci's second of the game!