clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Loui Eriksson voted Lady Byng finalist

Adam Hunger-USA TODAY Sports

The Professional Hockey Writer's Association have named their three finalists for the Lady Byng Trophy, awarded to the "player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability."

Loui Eriksson was named one of three finalists, along with Anze Kopitar and Aleksander Barkov.

If he wins, he'd join Rick Middleton, Jean Ratelle, Johnny Bucyk (2x), Don McKenney, and Bobby Bauer (3x) as the sixth Bruin to win the award. It seems it's the only award Bobby Orr didn't win.

Loui Eriksson has gotten Byng votes in 6 of his 10 years in the league. He was a finalist in 2010-11, losing to Martin St. Louis and Niklas Lidstrom. In 2011-12, he came in fourth behind Brian Campbell, Jordan Eberle, and Matt Moulson.

Good luck, Loui! I bet Bergeron knows all the good spots in Vegas to have a nice quiet night with the family.