clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Zdeno Chara is the longest tenured NHL captain

At 12 seasons, Big Zee now stands alone, with some talented company right behind him.

Ottawa Senators v Boston Bruins - Game Four

Shane Doan was made captain of the Arizona (then Phoenix) Coyotes in 2003, leading them as far as the Western Conference Finals in 2012, but no further. With the news of Doan not returning to Arizona, that now leaves our very own Zdeno Chara as the longest tenured NHL captain.

Given the “C” upon his arrival on July 1st, 2006, he helped the Bruins to get their first Stanley Cup in 39 years, since the days of Bobby Orr, back in 2011. He’s won a Norris trophy for best NHL defenseman, and aside from a two year stretch 2014-2016, made sure the Bruins were in the playoffs.

Once Chara’s time is done in Boston, who then becomes the longest tenured captain in the NHL? That title would belong to the Penguins’ Sidney Crosby, who became then the youngest captain in hockey before the 2007-08 season. The Blackhawks’ Jonathan Toews takes the spot behind Crosby, becoming captain in Chicago just one season later.