clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bruins come up empty at the NHL Awards

Not really surprising, but BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!

2018 NHL Awards – Nominee Media Availability Photo by Bruce Bennett/Getty Images

The NHL held its annual awards show tonight, and it was about as cringe-inducing as it usually is. The league announced winners of major awards using a puppet, a magic trick and more.

So...yeah. Still, kind of fun too.

The Bruins had two people in contention for major awards tonight, with Bruce Cassidy nominated for the Jack Adams and Patrice Bergeron nominated for the Patrice Bergeron Award Selke Trophy.

Everyone on Earth knew that Cassidy wasn’t going to win, with Gerard Gallant being about as much of a lock as a lock can be. Cassidy ended up finishing second, slightly ahead of Colorado’s Jared Bednar.

Bergeron and the Selke were a toss-up; many thought it was Sean Couturier’s year, but Anze Kopitar ended up getting his second Selke.

Bergeron finished 3rd. Per Chris, this is the first time since 2011 that Bergeron didn’t finish 1st or 2nd in Selke voting.

The Bruins got mentions in a few other spots as well:

  • Charlie McAvoy finished 5th in the race for rookie of the year, and Jake DeBrusk finished 12th; Mat Barzal won.
  • David Pastrnak got a single first place vote for the Lady Byng Trophy, which we swear wasn’t us voting; he finished tied for 33rd.
  • Zdeno Chara finished 15th in Norris Trophy voting, earned one 3rd and one 4th place vote.
  • Brad Marchand apparently finished 10th in Selke voting.

The Bruins might not be coming home with any hardware, but it was nice to see them recognized a bit.

Congrats to all the winners!