clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Update: Chara won't have a hearing for the hit on Evander Kane

New, comments

Well this should be interesting.

NHL: San Jose Sharks at Boston Bruins Winslow Townson-USA TODAY Sports

UPDATE (9:57 AM): Nothing coming.


Zdeno Chara and Evander Kane had a bit of a back-and-forth throughout last night's game, with Kane throwing his weight around looking to get physical in a lopsided game.

In the third period, Chara hit Kane behind the Bruins' net. Kane got up, shoved Chara from behind, and then got pummeled by the big man.

From dafoomie:

Kane was given an instigator, a misconduct and a fighting major, then was tossed (I think) for arguing from the box.

Chara was given an elbowing penalty and a fighting major. That's the end of that, right?

Apparently not.

Sharks fans were up in arms over the hit, while it didn't really register with many on this side.

If you're going to try to call that a hit to the head (Rule 48), you also have to consider a section of that rule discussing whether contact with the head was unavoidable.

That section states officials should consider "whether the opponent put himself in a vulnerable position by assuming a posture that made head contact on an otherwise full body check unavoidable."

Remember, this was the rule used to absolve Patric Hornqvist after his hit to the head of Charlie McAvoy last March.

It looks like a similar situation here, with Kane reaching for the puck. Given that and Chara's size difference, I'm not sure what Chara is supposed to do.

We'll see!