clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bruins announce their award winners for the 2019-2020 season

Some hometown hardware for a few guys.

Boston Bruins v Tampa Bay Lightning Photo by Scott Audette/NHLI via Getty Images

Each season, the Bruins organization gives out a number of in-house awards. These awards are normally given on Fan Appreciation Night/Day toward the end of the regular season, the same game as the “Shirts Off Our Backs” ceremony.

Given that we never got that far this season, the team decided to issue the awards virtually, announcing the winners in a press release.

  • The Eddie Shore Award, chosen by the Gallery Gods and given to a player who exhibits “exceptional hustle and determination,” was given to defenseman Brandon Carlo.
  • The Elizabeth Dufresne Trophy, chosen by the PHWA’s Boston chapter and given for “outstanding performance in home games” was given to forward David Pastrnak; Pastrnak recorded 28 goals and 21 assists in 35 home games.
  • The John P. Bucyk Award, chosen by the man himself and given to the player with the greatest off-ice charity work, was given to Patrice Bergeron.
  • The 3 Stars of the Season, chosen by 98.5 The Sports Hub and given to players who performed best during the season’s home games, were given to Pastrnak (1st Star), Tuukka Rask (2nd Star), and Brad Marchand (3rd Star).

I haven’t seen anything yet about a 7th Player Award winner, which is the award normally voted on by the fans. That may come later, or may be skipped entirely this season.

Nice nods for the winners, who will undoubtedly be hoping to add some more hardware to their trophy cases before the summer ends.