clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Patrice Bergeron finishes second in Selke Trophy voting

No new hardware for his trophy case.

Boston Bruins v Tampa Bay Lightning - Game Five Photo by Mark Blinch/NHLI via Getty Images

The NHL announced this evening that Sean Couturier of the Philadelphia Flyers was the winner of the Selke Trophy as the league’s best defensive forward.

Patrice Bergeron, the nine-time finalist and four-time winner, finished second, while Ryan O’Reilly of the St. Louis Blues finished third.

Bergeron received 21 first place votes, compared to 117 for Couturier.

When you take the points totals (each vote for 1st through 5th place comes with a set number of points, which are tallied together for the total), it really wasn’t a close race.

Here are the top five:

  1. Sean Couturier - 1,424 points
  2. Patrice Bergeron - 884 points
  3. Ryan O’Reilly - 816 points
  4. Anthony Cirelli - 612 points
  5. Mark Stone - 210 points

Interestingly, Brad Marchand finished 9th, receiving one vote each for 1st, 2nd, and 4th place, plus 4 votes for 5th place.

While it would have been nice to see Bergeron win his record-breaking fifth Selke, the voters probably got this one right.

Couturier had a great year, and is a deserving winner.