clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Minutemen bring the trophy home to Massachusetts as UMass wins national championship

Congrats to the Minutemen!

2021 NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Championship Photo by Gregory Shamus/Getty Images

The men’s NCAA hockey champions reside in Massachusetts once again!

The University of Massachusetts (Amherst, even though they don’t like when you say that) beat St. Cloud State 5-0 tonight to win the first men’s hockey national championship in school history.

The Minutemen join Boston College, Boston University, and Harvard as Massachusetts-based teams to win an NCAA men’s hockey national championship.

UMass came from behind to beat the University of Minnesota-Duluth (home of Karson Kuhlman) in the semifinal a couple of days ago, then pummeled St. Cloud State in Pittsburgh tonight to take home the hardware.

St. Cloud state’s logo is similar to the Canadiens logo, so clearly they shouldn’t win anything ever.

That win against UMD was made even more impressive by the fact that UMass was missing a few key players due to COVID-19 protocols.

Tonight’s win caps a remarkable turnaround for head coach Greg Carvel, who lost the most games in a single season in program history (29) in his first season back in 2016-2017, won the most in program history (31) two years ago, then finished the job this season.

While there are plenty of parties out in Amherst on your average spring Saturday night, there’s surely a few extra bashes (socially distant, of course) happening tonight.

Bust out the Natty Ice and Rubinoff, folks - you’re national champions! Congrats to the UMass hockey crew.