clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kevan Miller is the Boston nominee for the Masterton Trophy

A nice nod for the defenseman.

New York Rangers v Boston Bruins Photo by Steve Babineau/NHLI via Getty Images

The NHL unveiled each team’s nominee for the Masterton Trophy today, and defenseman Kevan Miller got the nod for the Bruins.

The nominees are chosen by each city’s respective chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

Miller’s nomination was pretty much a slam dunk for the Boston chapter, as his return to form after suffering a number of serious (and potentially career-ending) injuries perfectly captures the spirit of the award.

In case you forgot, the Masterton Trophy is given to the player who embodies perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to the game of hockey.

Interestingly, a number of former Bruins were nominated this year as well, including:

Bobby Ryan won the award last year.

You’d have to think the favorite for this year is Oskar Lindblom of the Philadelphia Flyers; the 24 year old has been an inspiration, playing in 49 games this year after completing treatment for Ewing’s sarcoma.

Kessel was the last player to win the award as a member of the Bruins (2006-2007).