clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Morning Skate: Unanimous

We are in agreement.

Boston Bruins v Edmonton Oilers Photo by Codie McLachlan/Getty Images

It is Wednesday, my dudes.

Last night saw the NHL hand out its more high-profile hardware, and none of the winners was super surprising.

Adam Fox of the New York Rangers won the Norris Trophy, Marc-Andre Fleury of the Vegas Golden Knights won the Vezina Trophy, and Connor McDavid of the Edmonton Oilers won the Hart Trophy.

McDavid was a lay-up of a choice, putting up an absurd 105 points in just 56 games.

105 points!!!!

What I found interesting, however, was the fact that McDavid ended up being a truly unanimous choice: there were 100 voters, and McDavid received a first-place vote from each of them.

As it turns out, McDavid is only the second player to ever unanimously win the award, with Wayne Gretzky previously accomplishing the feat.

I say I found it “interesting” because, frankly, there’s almost always somebody who has to make a ~different choice just to make a statement.

Case in point: the people who decided to leave Patrice Bergeron off of their Selke ballots entirely.

I figured that someone (looking at you, Toronto) would go and give Auston Matthews a first-place vote just to be cool, but it didn’t happen.

McDavid went 100 for 100.

I guess there’s hope for world peace after all.

Today’s discussion topic

We’re expecting the Bruins to announce the Maine Mariners as their new ECHL affiliate today, but there will be a different thread on that.

Instead, what are your thoughts on the awards? Did the voters get them right?